Class Placement and Staffing Update for 2020

Dear Parents and Caregivers

We have developed our preferred class structure for 2020 (see below) after much consideration and based on our projected enrolments and the requirements of the department’s student-centred funding model. This structure (below) supports our ‘professional learning community’ ethos of teachers working in collaborative teams and also to reduce class sizes in the early years of schooling.

With varying numbers of students across each year level we have a mixture of straight year level and composite classes moving into 2020. Common in most schools throughout Australia are composite classes – providing flexible options for placing students. Regardless of single or multiple year levels, every class can be considered to be ‘composite’ – where a wide range of student abilities exist. In order to cater for the differing needs of students, teachers work in professional learning teams to plan student learning programs.

Teachers are the same as other people in the workforce in that they are entitled to work in a part-time capacity. This is common practice in schools. In 2020, are some classes taught by two teachers, both of whom will be working in a part-time capacity. This is referred to as tandem teaching. Teachers in these situations meet regularly to plan learning programs as well as establishing and maintaining shared classroom routines and practices.

In placing students into classes for 2020 we have considered; professional teacher judgements, the social and emotional needs of students, behaviour, gender, friendship groups, and special needs. Parent input was also considered as per the optional invitation. Requests from parents to have or not to have specific teachers or students in their child’s class were not considered.

Today, students visited their new classes for 2020, meeting with their new classmates in some fun introductory activities and positive conversation. 

Due to the number of new and returning (from leave) teachers to Craigburn, not all classes were able to have their 2020 class teacher/s present. Existing class teachers / leaders however, supported the transition session. New and returning teachers have provided a letter of introduction to students / families.

Please note:

  • We ask parents and caregivers to have a positive and supportive conversation with your child regarding their new class, having trust in her / him in being able to adjust to the new learning environment and to make new friends.
  • Students generally adapt to their new class quickly. As the new school year commences we encourage students, teachers and parents to establish positive relationships.
  • Placements in classes are final. We will not be in a position to move students. Moving a student from one class to another inevitably changes the environment of multiple class groupings and for this reason, we will not be moving students.
  • Our teaching and leadership staff have worked carefully and sensitively over many weeks to place students into classes for 2020. We respectfully ask that parents/caregivers support this outcome. Thank you.

We welcome the following teachers to Craigburn for 2020.

  • Genna Dow returns to Craigburn having worked in England for the past two years.
  • Anita Wright rejoins the early years team returning from maternity / parenting leave.
  • Steven Webster joins our school, having been appointed to an ongoing position. Steven has worked for many years at O’Sullivan’s Beach Primary. 
  • Sonia Caruso joins the reception team, having worked recently at Warradale Primary.
  • Amy Lawson joins the early years R-2 team, having worked recently at Belair Primary.
  • Pip Tonkin also joins the early years R-2 team, having worked recently at Unley Primary.
  • Adele Taylor joins in the early years R-2 team
  • Tristan Fergusson joins us and will be teaching in tandem with Chantelle McMahon.
  • Natalie Shearer joins the upper primary years, having worked recently at Happy Valley.

We trust that students, staff and families will provide a warm welcome to all new staff.

We retain the services of the following teachers who will be continuing in contract positions for 2020 – Jodie Fischer, Tamsar Bellette, Amy Bennett, John Spurr, Tricia Gardner, Tahlia Woolford & Brooke Hamden.

Teaching Staff List for 2019 – including class structures and locations.

Rec:    Sonia Caruso – D20

Rec:    Tahlia Woolford – D21

Rec:      Genna Dow – D22

Yr 1:      Amy Lawson 0.8 MTWTh – Karen Prideaux 0.2 F – E23

Yr 1:      Adriana 0.8 MTWTh – Adele Taylor 0.2 F – E2

Yr 2:     Pip Tonkin – A1

Yr 2:     Anita Wright 0.6 MTW – Brooke Hamden 0.4 ThF – A3

Yr 2:     Lisa Sporn – A4

Yr 3/4: Renae Humphrys – A6

Yr 3/4: Chantelle McMahon 0.6 MTW – Tristan Fergusson 0.4 ThF – C14

Yr 3/4:  Veronica Khalaf – C15

Yr 3/4:  Pearl Somerset – C16

Yr 3/4:  Amy Bennett – C17

Yr 5/6:  Rebecca Hepworth – B8

Yr 5/6:  Tamsar Bellette – B9

Yr 5/6:  Jodie Fischer – B11

Yr 5/6:  Natalie Shearer – B12

Yr 5/6:  Steven Webster – B13

Yr 7:      Andrea Grant – F26

Yr 7:      Mark Lemmey – F27

Specialist Teachers / Leadership

  • Performing Arts – Liz Eland 1.0 – D18
  • German – Carly Smith 0.8 – E25
  • PE – Karen Pettman 0.6 Gym / Outdoors
  • PE / Health / Early Years – Emma Harry 0.6 Term 1
  • Science / STEM – John Spurr 0.4 – A7
  • EALD / Science / Early Years – Karen Prideaux 0.4
  • Nicky Taylor – Senior Leader / Student Wellbeing, Library
  • Rob Warncken – Deputy
  • Paul Luke – Principal

We farewell the following teachers and thank them for their contributions throughout 2019 –  Tara Bell (Year 1), Cameron Wright (Year 3/4), Karen Wissell (Year 6/7) and Paul Besanko (Science / PE).

We wish the following teachers all the best as they take leave in 2020: Terri Green and Mike Hanna.

Best wishes to all for a safe and happy Christmas and New Year. 

Paul Luke               Rob Warncken              Nicky Taylor

Principal                 Deputy Principal          Senior Leader


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.