End of Year Holiday Wrap – 2020

Dear Families

Thank you again for your wonderful support throughout what has been a truly memorable year. The community support we receive at Craigburn is ‘second to one’ – and is always greatly valued and appreciated. 

As has become tradition, at our final whole school assembly (last Friday), students and staff joined in and shared their gratitude to the many people who led and contributed to the special programs, events and activities held throughout 2020, which included: OSHC, canteen, camps, incursions, excursions, sports day, environment classes, recycling, book week, choirs, sports clinics, after-hours Sports, Term 1 Disco, Tournament of Minds, Sapsasa events, Premiers Challenges, Reconciliation Week, Remembrance Day, Gala Day, Craigburn’s Got Talent, Governing Council and much more. Thank you.

We extended our thanks and best wishes to those students and families, including our Year 7 group who move on to other schools.  A special mention to our Year 7 students and families who enjoyed a special celebration at their graduation ceremony and luncheon last week.

We also thanked and acknowledged the following teachers who leave us, having made positive contributions to teaching and learning programs for students at Craigburn, they are – Tamsar Bellette, Nardene Manna, Amy Lawson, Natalie Shearer and Adele Taylor. We thank them for being part of our school community.

Year 7 Graduation Awards

Two awards were presented at the recent Year 7 Graduation Ceremony – The Shane Browne and Governing Council Awards.

Shane Browne Award

Shane Browne was an upper primary teacher at Craigburn who was tragically killed in an accident in 1990.  Shane showed great love and kindness in his interactions with children. His special loves were science, music and maths. The Shane Browne memorial garden (at the front of the school) was consecrated a year after his death, with a special plaque laid on 27th September, 1991, with the School Council creating an award in his memory.  The award is presented to a female and male student each year who demonstrate the school values of caring, self worth and responsibility towards others.  The names of past recipients are recorded on the honour board in the front foyer. The criteria used to present the awards are:

  • Upholding and demonstrating the values of Craigburn – caring, self-worth and responsibility.
  • Acting as a positive role model for fellow students.
  • Contributing to the ethos of the school and the student’s class.
  • Preparedness to put in and help out.
  • Foresight and initiative to make the school a better place.

All students and teachers of year 7 graduating students were asked to nominate students based on this criteria. One female and two male students who received the most nominations are this year’s recipients of the Shane Browne Award. 

Congratulations to Jed Banquicio and Sophie Vowles

These two students are highly respected by their peers and teachers for the way they truly adhere to the school values of Self-worth, Caring and Responsibility. They have been role models throughout their years at Craigburn for the positive attitude and kind nature they always display. They are keen to see other people succeed and will actively support them to do their best. They have taken on extra curricular roles with gusto to leave a lasting impression at the school. Their peers’ votes clearly demonstrated the high regard they are held in by others. 

Governing Council Award

The Governing Council presents two excellence awards each year to a female and male student who have demonstrated: consistency in performance and behaviour, striving for excellence, accepting challenges and having an exceptional work ethic. 

Congratulations to Harley Gill and Emily Chapman.

These two students are both highly respected by their peers as hard workers and leaders in their learning. They strive for excellence in everything they do and seek feedback as to how they can improve their work to an even higher standard – this proved to be quite difficult for Mr. Lemmey and Ms Grant when it came to Harley’s Maths!. They are generous with their time and will help others, whose learning is also important to them. Their peers’ votes clearly demonstrated the high regard they are held in by others. We are proud of the learners they have developed into.

Catastrophic Fire Danger Rating

A reminder that the school and OSHC will be closed when the CFS declares a catastrophic fire danger rating for the Mt Lofty District for the day ahead. This declaration usually occurs after 4.30pm with the Minister for Education confirming school closures thereafter. 

New School Year – 2021

Please note that:

  • The Front Office is now closed for the Christmas / New Year holiday period.
  • Please note vacation care dates for OSHC.
  • Front Office staff will return to school on Friday 15th January.
  • Teaching staff officially return to work on Wednesday 20th January in preparation for the new year.
  • The first day of the school for students is Wednesday 27th January.

We have very much enjoyed working with students, staff and families this year, and wish everyone a safe and happy Christmas / New Year. Take care.

Kind regards

Paul, Rob and Nicky.